National Awards Qualifications and Scoring Criteria

Lifetime Achievement Award
The highest honor the Academy bestows on one of its members for contributions to the Academy through extensive, active participation and service at all levels of the Academy.

Distinguished Lecture Award
Honors an Academy member who has been recognized as a notable and inspiring speaker.

Honorary Membership Award
Awarded to up to three non-members every year based on their professional knowledge, technical expertise and promotion of the Academy's mission, vision and values.

Medallion Award
Honors Academy members who have shown dedication to the high standards of the nutrition and dietetics profession through active participation, leadership and devotion to serving others in dietetics and allied health fields.

Trailblazer Award
The Trailblazer Award recognizes exceptional leaders who have advanced the science at the nexus of nutrition/dietetics and food science for at least five years.

Media Excellence Award
Presented to an individual reporter, publication or program for consistent, high-quality nutrition reporting.

Outstanding Social Media Award
The Outstanding Social Media Award recognizes creative, innovative and effective engagement with the public through social media platforms and blogs.

Excellence in Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Access Award
The recipient has exhibited exceptional performance in inclusion, diversity, equity and access (IDEA) promotion as a change agent and thought leader, made significant contributions to the achievement of IDEA, and held inspiring leadership roles in nutrition and other health-related organizations.

Outstanding Nutrition and Dietetics Technician Registered Award
This award honors an Academy member who has exhibited exceptional performance as an NDTR, promoted the visibility of the NDTR, and held inspiring leadership roles in nutrition-related organizations.

Excellence in Practice Awards
Recognizing outstanding registered dietitian nutritionists; nutrition and dietetics technicians, registered; and members who have demonstrated innovation, creativity and leadership in a specific area of practice.

  • Business & Industry
  • Clinical Nutrition
  • Communications
  • Community and Public Health
  • Consultant
  • Education
  • Entrepreneurial
  • Executive Leadership
  • Informatics
  • Management
  • Research