Board of Directors

The Board of Directors oversees the strategic direction, budget, guidelines and policies of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. With the mission and vision leading the Academy in all facets of governance and policy, the Board provides access to the strategic plan and Academy policies that guide members and the profession as a whole.

Comprised of national leaders in nutrition and health, the Board has 19 members and governs the organization.

  • President: Terri J. Raymond, MA, RDN, CD, FAND
  • President-Elect: Linda T. Farr, RDN, CSOWM, LD, FAND
  • Speaker: Diane W. Heller, MMSc, RDN, LD, FAND
  • CEO: Patricia M. Babjak, MLIS

View all members of the Board of Directors.


To govern the organization, the Academy Board of Directors:

  • Sets and monitors strategic direction.
  • Oversees fiscal planning.
  • Provides leadership for professional initiatives.
  • Appoints persons to represent the association.
  • Establishes guidelines and policies for appeals, publications, awards and honors.

Position and Term Lengths

Title  Term Length
President 1 year
President-Elect (elected by general membership) 1 year
Immediate Past-President 1 year
Treasurer 1 year
Treasurer-Elect (elected by general membership) 1 year
Past-Treasurer 1 year
Directors at Large (3, elected by general membership) 3 years
House of Delegates Director (3, elected by the general membership) 3 years
Speaker of the HOD 1 year
Speaker-Elect of the HOD 1 year
Immediate Past-Speaker of the HOD 1 year
Public Member 3 years
     (2, appointed by the Academy Board of Directors for up to a three year term)
Academy Foundation Chair (elected by the Foundation) 1 year
Academy CEO (non-voting)  
Leadership Directory


More About the Board of Directors