Skip to main content


The ACEND board is the governing unit of ACEND which grants final accreditation awards. As a decision making body of a federally-recognized accrediting agency, the board must include at least one academic, educator, practitioner, administrator and public member. The ACEND board includes: A chair, a vice chair, a past chair, at least one representative for each program type (Dietetic Technician, Didactic, Coordinated, and Dietetic Internship), at least one practitioner representative for each credential offered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (Dietetic Technician Registered and Registered Dietitian Nutritionist), at least one program administrator or representative of other stakeholders, one dietetics student, and one representative of the public. Information about qualifications and requirements for ACEND board positions can be found in the ACEND board positions can be found in the ACEND Policy & Procedure Handbook.

2022-2023 Board

James Swain, PhD, RD, LD, FAND
Associate Professor and Director, Didactic Program in Dietetics
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio

Vice Chair:
Long Wang, MD, PhD, RDN, FAND
Director and Clinical Professor, Future Graduate Program
University of the Pacific
Sacramento, California

Past ACEND Chair:
Cheryl Bacon, MS, RD, LDN, FAND
Director, Dietetic Internship
UChicago Medicine Ingalls Memorial
Harvey, Illinois

Coordinated Program in Dietetics (CP) Representative:
Wanda Koszewski, PhD, RD, LD, FAND
Professor, Department Chair and Director, Didactic Program in Dietetics
Winthrop University
Rock Hill, South Carolina

Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) Representatives:
Melinda Anderson, PhD, RDN, LDN
Professor, Director, School of Human Ecology, and Didactic Program in Dietetics
Tennessee Technological University
Cookeville, Tennessee

Kendra Kattelmann, PhD, RDN, LDN, FAND
Distinguished Professor, Director, Health and Consumer Sciences Division
South Dakota State University
Brookings, South Dakota

Dietetic Internship (DI) Program Representatives:
Crystal Wynn, PhD, MPH, RD
Associate Professor, Department Chair, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, Director, Dietetic Internship
Virginia State University
Petersburg, Virginia

Constance Francis, PhD, RD
Associate Professor Emerita Nutrition and Dietetics Department
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, Colorado

Dietetic Technician (DT) Program Representative:
Judith Kaplan, MS, RD, LD
Director, Dietetic Technician Program
Cuyahoga Community College
Cleveland, Ohio

Dietetic Technician (DT) Program Representative-elect:
Heather Williams, PhD, MS, RDN
Director, Dietetic Technician Program
Truckee Meadows Community College
Reno, Nevada

Program Representative At-Large and Program Administrator Representative:
Nina L. Roofe, PhD, RDN, LD, FAND
Chair, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
University of Central Arkansas
Conway, Arkansas

Program Representative At-Large:
Jennifer Tomesko, DCN, RD, CNSC
Assistant Professor, Program Director, Future Graduate Program
Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
Newark, New Jersey

Program Representative At-Large-elect:
Kelli Killingsworth, MPH, RDN, LND
Director, Coordinated Program
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus
Gurabo, Puerto Rico

Practitioner Representatives:
Michelle Palumbo, NDTR
Dietetic Technician
Cleveland Clinic
Parma, Ohio

Patricia Brathwaite, EdD, MPH, RDN, LDN, FAND
Renal Dietitian
Fresenius Medical Care
Pine Bluff, Arkansas

Practitioner Representative-elect:
Gloria Verdino, MS, RD, CDN
Renal Dietitian
Davita Kidney Care
Monticello, New York

Public Members:
Anita C. Reinhardt, PhD, RN
Associate Director for Undergraduate Nursing Programs
New Mexico State University
Las Cruces, New Mexico

Anthony Hill, PhD, LISW-CP, CFSW, ACSW
Chair and Graduate Director, and Associate Professor, Department of Social Work
Winthrop University
Rock Hill, South Carolina

Shawna L. Strickland, PhD, CAE, RRT,-NPS, RRT-ACCS, AE-C, FAARC
Associate Executive Director, Programs
American Epilepsy Society
Chicago, Illinois

Student Representative:
Michelle Evans
Dietetic Student
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, Colorado

Student Representative-elect:
Aisha Khan
Dietetic Student
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, Texas

Find an ACEND-Accredited Program

ACEND has more than 600 accredited programs across the United States and select countries internationally, with in-person and online options. Use the search filters to find the program that fits your needs.