ACEND Board Members

The ACEND® board is the governing unit of ACEND® which grants final accreditation awards. As a decision making body of a federally-recognized accrediting agency, the board must include at least one academic, educator, practitioner, administrator and public member. The ACEND® board includes: A chair, a vice chair, a past chair, at least one representative for each program type (Dietetic Technician, Didactic, Coordinated, and Dietetic Internship), at least one practitioner representative for each credential offered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (Dietetic Technician Registered and Registered Dietitian Nutritionist), at least one program administrator or representative of other stakeholders, one dietetics student, and one representative of the public. Information about qualifications and requirements for ACEND® board positions can be found in the ACEND® board positions can be found in the ACEND Policy & Procedure Handbook.

2021-2022 Board


  • Cheryl Bacon, MS, RD, LDN, FAND
    Director, Dietetic Internship
    UChicago Medicine Ingalls Memorial
    Harvey, Illinois

Vice Chair

  • James Swain, PhD, RD, LD, FAND
    Associate Professor and Director, Didactic Program in Dietetics
    Case Western Reserve University
    Cleveland, Ohio

Past ACEND Chair

  • Barbara Hopkins, MMSc, RD, LD
    Professor Emerita
    formerly Assistant Professor, Clinical and Director, Didactic Program
    Georgia State University
    Atlanta, Georgia

Coordinated Program in Dietetics (CP) Representative

  • Wanda Koszewski, PhD, RD, LD, FAND
    Professor, Department Chair and Director, Didactic Program in Dietetics
    Winthrop University
    Rock Hill, South Carolina

Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) Representatives

  • Long Wang, MD, PhD, RDN, FAND
    Nutrition Professor
    California State University, Long Beach
    Long Beach, California
  • Melinda Anderson, PhD, RDN, LDN
    Professor, Director, School of Human Ecology, and Didactic Program in Dietetics
    Tennessee Technological University
    Cookeville, Tennessee

Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) Representatives-elect

  • Kendra Kattelmann, PhD, RDN, LDN, FAND
    Distinguished Professor, Director, Health and Consumer Sciences Division
    South Dakota State University,
    Brookings, South Dakota

Dietetic Internship (DI) Program Representative

  • Nancy T. Prange, MS, RDN, LDN
    Director, Dietetic Internship
    Northern Illinois University
    DeKalb, Illinois

  • Constance Francis, PhD, RD
    Associate Professor Emerita Nutrition and Dietetics Department
    University of Northern Colorado
    Greeley, Colorado

Dietetic Internship (DI) Program Representative-elect

  • Crystal Wynn, PhD, MPH, RD
    Associate Professor, Department Chair, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, Director, Dietetic Internship
    Virginia State University
    Petersburg, Virginia

Dietetic Technician (DT) Program Representative

  • Judith Kaplan, MS, RD, LD
    Director, Dietetic Technician Program
    Cuyahoga Community College
    Cleveland, Ohio

Program Representative at Large and Program Administrator Representative

  • Nina L. Roofe, PhD, RDN, LD, FAND
    Chair, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    University of Central Arkansas
    Conway, Arkansas

Program Representative at Large

  • Janet D. Hiser, MOE, RD, CNSC, CDN, FAND
    Director, Future Graduate Program
    Fairfield University
    Fairfield, Connecticut

Program Representative at Large-elect

  • Jennifer Tomesko, DCN, RD, CNSC
    Assistant Professor, Program Director, Future Graduate Program
    Rutgers Biomedical and Health
    Sciences, Newark, New Jersey

Practitioner Representatives

  • Darrin W. Schmidt DTR, FAND
    Director of Nutrition & Food Services at Muscogee (Creek) Nation Medical Center
    Okmulgee Memorial Hospital
    Tulsa, Oklahoma

  • Patricia Brathwaite, EdD, MPH, RDN, LDN, FAND
    Renal Dietitian
    Fresenius Medical Care
    Pine Bluff, Arkansas

Practitioner Representative-elect

  • Michelle Palumbo, NDTR
    Dietetic Technician
    Cleveland Clinic
    Parma, Ohio

Public Members

  • Anita C. Reinhardt, PhD, RN
    Associate Director for Undergraduate Nursing Programs
    New Mexico State University
    Las Cruces, New Mexico

  • Leslie Halpern, PhD
    Ferkauf Graduate School of Psychology
    Yeshiva University
    New York, New York

  • Shawna L. Strickland, PhD, CAE, RRT,-NPS, RRT-ACCS, AE-C, FAARC
    Associate Executive Director, Programs
    American Epilepsy Society
    Chicago, Illinois

Student Representative

  • Emily Kuettel
    Dietetic Intern
    Loyola University
    Maywood, Illinois

Student Representative-elect

  • Michelle Evans
    Dietetic Student
    University of Northern Colorado
    Greeley, Colorado