Obtaining an NPI or EIN

The National Provider Identifier (NPI) is a unique, 10-digit, identification number for health care providers, practitioners, and suppliers of health care services. The NPI is an important means of demonstrating a viable workforce of qualified providers and practitioners to payors and other external stakeholders.

All credentialed nutrition and dietetics practitioners (RDNs and NDTRs) should have an individual NPI regardless of work environment, employment status, or whether claims are submitted to payers.

Your individual NPI follows you everywhere, so if you work at more than one practice location or setting, you do not need to get two NPIs. An NPI does not expire or deactivate, unless you deactivate it by submitting a change in status request using a National Provider Identifier Application/Update form. (CMS-10114)

Obtaining an NPI: Who

All health care providers who are HIPAA-covered entities, whether individuals or organizations, are required by law to obtain an NPI when transmitting electronic health information in connection with HIPAA standard transactions, even if a billing agency prepares the transaction. Even if you do not meet the criteria of a HIPAA-covered entity, you may still be required to obtain an NPI. There are additional reasons why there is value in obtaining one.

NPI: What and Why

National Provider Identifiers are used in health care claims and may be tied to provider notes in electronic health records. Additionally, NPIs are used increasingly to match providers to data.

Before enrolling as a provider in Medicare or becoming credentialed with Medicaid or private payers, you will need to obtain an NPI. The NPI serves as a "digital footprint" that can enable better understanding of the care provided, including specific nutrition interventions, RDN attribution to patient care, and the evaluation and reporting of outcomes and quality measures. Health care trends suggest that the use and application of the NPI will grow as a result of changes in health care delivery and payment.

Types of NPIs

Individual NPI (Type 1)

The individual NPI is an important mechanism for demonstrating a viable workforce of RDN and NDTRs to external stakeholders, including public and private payors. It is intended for individuals. Businesses defined as a sole proprietorship, in which one person owns all the assets of the business and is solely liable for all debts on an individual basis, may also apply for a Type 1 NPI.

Key Points about Type 1 NPIs:

  • You, as an individual, may obtain only one Type 1 NPI.
  • NPIs can indicate specialization. (See NPI Specialist Taxonomies, including taxonomies for all CDR Board Specialist Certifications)
  • Your individual NPI can be tied to one or more tax identification numbers/employer identification number (EINs). (See below for more information on how to obtain a tax ID/EIN.)
  • You must notify the enumerator of any changes to information related to your NPI within 30 days of the change, including:
    • Change in business or practice location
    • Legal change of name associated with your NPI
    • Updated taxonomies (e.g., if an NDTR becomes an RDN, the individual keeps the same NPI, but would update the taxonomy to remove NDTR and add RDN).
  • NPIs are required for becoming credentialed with payers.
  • To enroll as a Medicare provider, you must have an individual NPI. (For more information please refer to the Medicare Basics page.)

NPI Specialist Taxonomies

Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Codes are designed to categorize the type, classification, and/or specialization of health care providers. When applying for an NPI, a health care provider must select the taxonomy code(s) or code description(s) that most closely describes the provider's type. You can select more than one taxonomy if applicable.

The group of providers or individuals that includes RDNs and NDTRs is 'Dietary and Nutritional Service Providers.' In addition to selecting your provider classification, you can also select any and all specializations based on Commission on Dietetic Registration Board Certified Specialties. RDNs should review and update their NPI information to make sure it is current and accurate and reflects any specialist taxonomies, if applicable.

Dietary and Nutritional Service Providers:

  • Dietetic Technician, Registered – 136A00000X
  • Dietitian, Registered – 133V00000X
    • Nutrition, Gerontological – 133VN1101X
    • Nutrition, Metabolic – 133VN1006X
    • Nutrition, Obesity and Weight Management – 133VN1201X
    • Nutrition, Oncology – 133VN1301X
    • Nutrition, Pediatric – 133VN1004X
    • Nutrition, Pediatric, Critical Care – 133VN1401X
    • Nutrition, Renal – 133VN1005X
    • Nutrition, Sports Dietetics – 133VN1501X

Read the list of NPI taxonomy codes and definitions.

Organizational NPI (Type 2)

The Organization NPI (Type 2) is for group practices. If you are considering forming a group practice, or is incorporating, you will need to obtain an NPI for yourself (Type 1) and an NPI for your organization or group practice (Type 2).

Obtain an NPI

You can obtain an NPI by going to the National Plan and Provider Enumeration System website (NPPES) and completing an application electronically or by downloading a paper copy and submitting it by mail. The online application process for an individual NPI is quick, taking less than 30 minutes. Applications submitted online may be processed as quickly as 10 days; mail-in applications may take up to 60 days. Remember to print a copy of your application for your files.

Before applying for an NPI number, you should search the NPI registry to confirm you do not already have one. It is possible that an employer, such as a hospital, may have obtained an NPI for you. Be sure to also search any previous names used professionally.

You will need your Social Security Number and license or registration number when applying. You will also need to determine which provider taxonomy codes will be selected.

Additional NPI Resources:

Employer Identification Number

In addition to an NPI, RDNs and NDTRs who are creating a new group or organization (i.e. group private practice, corporation or other business) may need to obtain a separate tax identification number for their practice or business. An employer identification number (EIN) or Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), also known as a business tax ID, is a unique nine-digit number.

The EIN is the corporate equivalent to a Social Security number and is used when filing taxes for your business to protect your Social Security number from being disclosed on W-2s and in transactions, such as claims sent to health plans. If you are part of a group or organization, the group will already have an EIN.

Additional EIN Resources from IRS.gov