Update on Academy's Dietary Guidelines Engagement Process

01/15/2019 - Despite uncertainty how the ongoing government shutdown affecting the U.S. Department of Agriculture may impact the government's timeline in finalizing appointments to the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee and conducting evidence reviews, the Academy continues to move forward with a refined process for engaging in the development of the 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans that the USDA and Department of Health and Human Services will jointly issue in approximately two years.

To create a more nimble process that engages member experts in the development of the Academy's positions on topics and issues to be addressed in the quinquennial guidelines, member leaders from the Legislative and Public Policy Committee and Council on Research will be overseeing a collaborative of topic-focused Think Tanks (replacing the more formal workgroups focused on the same topics detailed previously).

DPG Policy and Advocacy Leaders will be working closely with the LPPC and Council on Research in appointing DPG member experts to the Think Tanks in time for the Think Tanks to start meeting in early spring. The Academy encourages member experts to work with their DPGs if they are interested in being a part of the Academy's 2020-2025 DGA Engagement Process.

To date, the Academy has worked to secure additional government funding dedicated for the first time toward the DGAs, submitted recommendations for expanding and enhancing topics and scientific questions to be reviewed by the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee, and supported the nominations of a slate of highly-qualified Academy members with expertise in the areas aligned with the DGA topics to serve on the DGAC. Nominees included*:

  • Regan Bailey, PhD, MS, MPH, RD, CPH; West Lafayette, Indiana
  • Cathy Champagne, PhD, MS, RDN, LDN, FADA, FAND; Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Patricia Davidson, DCN, RDN, CDE, LDN, FAND; West Chester, Pennsylvania
  • Sharon Groh-Wargo, PhD, RD, LD; Cleveland, Ohio
  • Deanna M. Hoelscher, PhD, RDN, LD, CNS, FISBNPA; Austin, Texas
  • Teresa A. Marshall, PhD, RDN; Iowa City, Iowa
  • Richard Mattes, PhD, MPH, RD; West Lafayette, Indiana
  • Punam Ohri-Vachaspati, PhD, RD, LD; Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Hollie Raynor, PhD, RD, LDN; Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Diane L. Rigassio-Radler, PhD, RDN; Newark, New Jersey
  • Kim Robien, PhD, RD, FAND; Washington, District of Columbia
  • Joanne L. Slavin, PhD, RD; Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Linda Snetselaar, PhD, RDN, LD, FAND; Iowa City, Iowa
  • Jamie Stang, PhD, MPH, RDN; Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Alison L Steiber, PhD, RD, LD; Shaker Heights, Ohio
  • Christopher A. Taylor, PhD, RDN, LD, FAND; Columbus, Ohio
  • Brie Turner-McGrievy, PhD, MS, RD, FTOS; Columbia, South Carolina

*One nominee asked that the nominee's name not be disclosed.