An Open Letter from Academy President to President Trump

White House


January 23, 2018

The President
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

In reporting on the results of your recent medical exam, Dr. Ronny Jackson noted that he planned to consult a nutritionist as part of your ongoing health care plan. As the 2017-2018 President of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals, I strongly encourage Dr. Jackson to seek the unequalled services of a registered dietitian nutritionist (RDN).

Through our education and training, RDNs specialize in translating nutrition science into practical advice. It is no understatement to say we help change people's lives for the better – especially a person with a life as complex as yours, and a job as stressful as that of President of the United States.

Congress and federal health agencies like the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services have recognized that RDNs' expertise in nutrition and its impact on health is more extensive than any other health profession. I am certain that Dr. Jackson is aware of the role RDNs play in the health of those who serve in our government and military.

Many highly qualified RDNs work in health care positions in the federal government, and any would be honored to work with Dr. Jackson and you to optimize your nutritional health. It would be my pleasure to collaborate with Dr. Jackson to arrange for an RDN to meet with him, and his team, to discuss how an RDN – and the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics as a whole – could be of service to you.

Thank you very much for your time and attention, and I wish you the best of health!


Donna S. Martin, EdS, RDN, LD, SNS, FAND

Cc: Rear Adm. Ronny L. Jackson, MD

Board of Directors

Donna S Martin, EdS, RDN, LD, SNS, FAND

Mary Russell, MS, RDN, LDN, FAND

Past President
Lucille Beseler, MS, RDN, LDN, CDE, FAND

Jo Jo Dantone-DeBarbieris, MS, RDN, LDN, CDE, FAND

Manju Karkare, MS, RDN, LDN, FAND

Past Treasurer
Margaret Garner, MS, RDN, LD, CIC, FAND

Chair, Academy Foundation
Martin M Yadrick, MBI, MS, RDN, FAND

Speaker, House of Delegates
Dianne K Polly, JD, RDN, LDN, FAND

Speaker-Elect, House of Delegates Marcy Kyle, RDN, LD, CDE, FAND

Past Speaker, House of Delegates
Linda T Farr, RDN, LD, FAND

Hope Barkoukis, PhD, RDN, LD
Susan Brantley, MS, RDN, LDN, CNSD
Michele Delille Lites, RD, CSO, FAND
Tamara Randall, MS, RDN, LD, CDE, FAND
Kevin Sauer, PhD, RND, LD, FAND
Milton Stokes, PhD, MPH, RD, FAND

Public Members
Kevin Concannon, MSW
Steven A Miranda, SPHR, GPHR

Chief Executive Officer
Patricia M Babjak, GSLIS