Commission on Dietetics Registration Names New Members for 2018-2019

June 28, 2017

CHICAGO – The Commission on Dietetic Registration, the credentialing agency for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, has named four new members.

CDR is responsible for establishing and enforcing standards for the certification and recertification of more than 100,000 registered dietitian nutritionists and nutrition and dietetics technicians, registered, and issuing credentials to individuals who meet these standards.

The following new CDR members will serve three-year terms:

Lisa (Elizabeth) Abbay, RDN, LDN, FAND, Memphis, Tenn., Member
Abbay is a talent acquisition manager at Compass Group.

D. Travis Thomas, PhD, RDN, CSSD, LD, FAND, Lexington, Ky., Specialist Certification Representative
Thomas is an associate professor of clinical and sports nutrition at the University of Kentucky.

Amanda R. Coufal, BS-NDTR, Overland Park, Kan., Registered Representative
Coufal is a dietetic assistant III at the University of Kansas Hospital.

The following appointee will serve a one-year term:

Micheal W. Giles, PhD, Atlanta, Ga., CDR Public Member
Giles is the Fuller E. Callaway professor of political science at Emory University.


The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. The Academy is committed to improving health and advancing the profession of nutrition and dietetics through research, education and advocacy. Visit the Academy at